City of Saginaw, Michigan

At the Monday, November 9, 2020 City
Council meeting, the Saginaw City Council unanimously voted to select Brenda F.
Moore as Saginaw’s next mayor and Michael Balls as mayor pro tem. They will serve in
these roles until November 2022.

“This is a tremendous honor and I am humbled and thrilled to serve as your
mayor,” said Mayor Brenda Moore. “We have an incredible group of individuals on our
City Council. I look forward to working with the other council members and Mayor Pro
Tem Balls as we face the challenges and successes that will shape the future of

Mayor Brenda F. Moore was elected to City Council in 2013 and served as the
Mayor Pro Tem since 2018. After her election to council in 2013, Brenda became
actively involved in the Michigan Municipal League, attending conferences and training
to become more effective in her role on city council. Brenda was selected as the 2018-
2019 Vice President of the Michigan Municipal League Board of Trustees and served as
MML Board President in 2019-2020. Brenda has also served as the 2nd Vice President
for the Michigan Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials and as President of the Board
for the Elected Official Academy (EOA).

Mayor Pro Tem Michael Balls has served on City Council since 2013. Michael is
a lifelong resident of Saginaw and has dedicated his personal and professional life to
the common good of others. He is a graduate of the Saginaw Public School System and
Delta College Apprenticeship Program. Among the many organizations that he devotes
his time to is the Big Brothers Big Sisters organization. He was matched as a Big
Brother for the first time in 1990 and now serves on the Board of Directors. In 2012,
Councilman Balls received the “Big Brother of the Year” award from the Saginaw
County Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Great Lakes Bay Region.

Also at Monday's meeting, City Clerk Janet Santos administered the oath of
office to newly elected council members George Copeland, Jr., Michael Flores, and
Monique Lamar-Silvia, along with returning council members Reggie Williams II and
Annie Boensch. All five will serve on City Council until 2024.

City Manager Tim Morales commented on the new council and the selection of
Mayor Moore and Mayor Pro Tem Balls, “I think we have an outstanding group of
leaders serving on our council, and I am very excited for this opportunity to work with
Mayor Moore and Mayor Pro Tem Balls in their new roles. They are outstanding
leaders, hardworking, and committed to this community. I am confident that their
leadership will continue to advance Saginaw forward.”

For more information on the Saginaw City Council, visit our website at or contact the City Manager’s
office at (989)759-1403.